top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon

A Coach's Wife


Coach’s Wives. There’s nothing extraordinary about us as a group of women with a commonality between us, except for the extraordinary men we married. When one thinks of coaching the obvious comes to mind, Friday nights…and that’s about it. However, that’s just it, coaching is much, much more than one night a week, and being married to a coach is more than Friday nights sitting in the stands as well.

Let me paint you a picture. It’s Monday night, it’s dark outside, the dinner I cooked is cold, and my husband is still not home yet. This picture can be seen in my house multiple times a week during football season. Now before you think I’m complaining, I’m not. When my husband comes home, the spark in his eyes when he walks in the door from this job is well worth a few hours at home alone.

When I first met Dusty, he had had a lot of experience in different careers, all of which left him empty, unfulfilled, and unhappy. I asked him one day early in our relationship, “What job would make you the happiest?” He told me that being a football coach was a lifelong dream, but the amount of money that comes along with that job was not enough for my ambitious hubs. After many conversations, he finally made the decision to pursue that dream and has never looked back.

The spark. That’s what makes it all worth it. When he comes home and tells me about a play that one of his players finally “got” or when he gets multiple texts on father’s day where his players profess their fatherly love for their coach, that’s what life is about, not the amount of zeros on your paycheck.

There are hard times, however. Especially when the team our husband’s coach for aren’t performing to the standard that the crowd sees fit. If you talk to any coach’s wife. This is the hardest because those people in the stands don’t see the man hours, or the tired eyes, or the sleepless nights that film is being watched over and over again to try and get that win that everyone wants. You just have to understand that they don’t understand.

All in all, coaching is the best thing that’s happened to our family. The reward is greater than any negative aspect of the coaching life. I am so proud to say that I am a coach’s wife


bottom of page