top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon

Copy Cats

One of my favorite ways to choose an outfit is to browse Pinterest for different looks and pairing options. However, this may seem tricky to some. You end up pinning a bunch of outfits and you’re unable to put together the looks you loved on the internet and when you go to a store to buy those pieces, you walk out with nothing because you're overwhelmed. I’ve been there too.

A good rule of thumb when it comes to copy cat looks is to choose an outfit which includes basic pieces in order to copy, especially if you’re on a budget. If you choose an outfit full of items that you don’t have the essential pieces of, you’re pretty much at a dead end road.

If you’re still lost on what a basic piece is, here is a list of my style basics:

-black and white v-neck and regular neck t-shirts – be sure these are good quality

- jeans (I always have a pair of skinny darks, a ripped up skinny, and a big flared jean)

- army green coat or vest

- basic brown boots (tall and short)

- chambray shirt (light and dark)

- black and white striped shirt (long sleeve and short sleeved)

- a printed or interestingly colored cardigan (mustard is the color I adore in a cardi)

- a flowy, neutral colored top

These are the basics of a lot of Pinterest looks I LOVE. I can make just about any outfit work if the pin I’m interested in features one or two of these basics. However, these basics may not be for you. My style is very simple. I don't wear a lot of patterns, nor do I wear a lot of color. I like neutrals, big shirts, ripped jeans and comfy but functional clothing. I'm also a teacher, so I tend to favor clothes that could be worn casually on the weekend or to school during the week. You have to work with your personal style to make your collection function for how you want to look.

Here are a few Pinterest looks that follow what I’m talking about. If you only have to go out and buy one or two missing items from your Pinterest look, you’ll be doing your bank account and your sanity a favor.

Look to copy.jpg
Look to copy 3.jpg
look to copy 2.jpg
look to copy 5.jpg
look to copy 9.jpg
look to copy 8.jpg
look to copy 7.jpg
looks to copy 6.jpg


bottom of page